Customizing Views

Views let you customize the display of data on different tables though out the database, such as gift information on a giving tab, or the list of queries in the query tool. These views can be customized where the Customizing Views icon appears:    View Icon

This icon can be can be found at the bottom of a data table, as with the gifts tab...  

Giving_Tab_View_Icon_Location.png

... or next to the search bar in tools like Query, and Deliver:  

Deliver_Search_View_Icon.png

 

Customizing A View

A view can be customized by clicking on the icon found through the data tables in the database, or by clicking on an object in the Shared Views tool.  

 

Customized View from the Icon

Clicking the icon creates a popup that shows data currently displayed on the table as a list of exports.  

Default_View.png

In the list of views there are three sections, Library, Personal, and Shared:

Library
A list of Slate default views available for the data table.
Personal
A list of views the user has created for themselves
Shared
A list of views available to all user (permission dependent) to use

Library__Personal___Shared_Views.png

  

 

There are three icons to the right of the list of views.  From left to right: Save Preset, Copy Preset, and Delete Preset.   

    • Save Preset: Save changes made to view
    • Copy Preset: Copy the current view
    • Delete Preset: Delete current view

Save_Preset__Copy_Preset__and_Delete_Preset.png

  

 

Permissions

The save and delete icons will not be clickable without permission to edit a default view. These users can still copy the view, make their own changes, and delete their versions of the view. 

They can also make local changes to the default view (or any other for which they lack edit permissions); these changes are temporarily cached and do not affect the view for any other users. If the user selects a different view from the select list of views, any cached changes are erased.

A user can copy a view to save their modifications in the copied view. The new view will be specific to the user and is not available for other users to access.

 

Adjust a view's column widths

Each export in the customize view menu appears as a column in the view itself. The width of each column can be adjusted by pixel or by percentage. Within a view, double-click an export or click edit. In the Edit Part window, you'll see a field called Display Width. Enter a width in pixels or percent, then click Save. 

Adjusting_Column_width_to_50_.png

 

Shared Views

  Summit 2022 Feature

Shared views let other users in your database see the same view, with all the same exports, filters, and sorts, for a tab.

Custom Views can be managed in the Shared Views tool, accessible via Database under the section Configurations. The list of objects for which views can be customized views appears. On the right, you'll see the number of customized views that have been created for each object (excluding the default view). 

Shared_Views.png

  

 

Customizing a Shared View

To create a new shared view:

  1. Under the table for which you want to create a shared view, click the Customize View icon.

Customize_View_Icon.png

  1. Click Edit Shared Views.

    Alternatively, start from Database > Shared Views and select the view type you'd like to work on.

  2. Click Create View. The Library default view appears.
  3. Add a name and modify the view's exports, filters, and sorts as needed.

    Note: The view's name will be visible to other users. 
  4. Click Save. The new view appears both in the Shared Views tool, and as an option in the views dropdown for that table under Shared.

 

 

Only users with the Manage Shared Views permission can add new Shared Views. Users that have been granted the permissions Access View or Modify View on a given shared view can access and modify that view, respectively.

If a user is granted Modify View for one or more shared view, they must also have the Manage Shared Views permission. 

Expand Access to a View

Access Permissions allow you to further restrict who can modify and access the Shared View. If there are Access Permissions, users must meet one of the listed criteria for accessing the view. Add Access Permissions to a view by clicking the Edit icon, then selecting the Access Permissions tab. Then, choose to add grantees by user, role, or permission, and select the permissions they should receive.

Add_Grantee_by_Role.png

If no access permissions are set for a shared view, then any user with the Manage Shared Views permission can modify it.

 

Accessing Shared Views as a User 

Active shared views are available for access to all users of all permission types if there are no access permissions set for that view.

Shared views without access permissions can be added as editable personal views for any user by clicking Update on the shared view. The users can modify the exports, filters, and sorts that they (and they alone) see displayed for all records on that table. 

blobid7.png

  

 

Was this article helpful?
1 out of 1 found this helpful