This article provides more details regarding decision tracking in Slate.org. As noted in the Application Sharing article, colleges and universities that use Slate will decide which decisions to share and when to share them.
When Decisions Are Shared
Colleges and universities in Slate can opt in to share decisions upon decision release or only after the student has received their decision. When viewing a college in Slate.org, the following decision sharing messages will appear in the application data settings summary:
Shared decisions may not have been viewed by the applicant.
The college or university may have one or more decisions configured to be shared upon release. As a result, the student may not have viewed the decision.
Decisions are only shared once viewed by the applicant.
The college or university has configured all of their decisions to be shared only after the student has viewed it.
Colleges and universities can update these settings at any given time and these updates will be reflected in Slate.org.
Reminder - The application data sharing service runs every few hours. As a result, the decisions do not populate in real time.
When Decisions Are Viewed
Colleges and universities can use Slate to release their decisions online. Additionally, students can view their decision letters in their application status portal. When a student views their decision online, the decision is marked as received.
Decisions that may not have been viewed online by the student are indicated by the icon. Once a decision has been marked as received online, the icon will be removed.
Important - A decision is marked as received when the student has viewed it in their online application status portal. This does not account for decisions that may have been printed and mailed to a student.