Batch Create & Update User Accounts

The user scope can be selected for a Source Format or ad hoc import to create, or update, existing users. Since the general aspects of importing user data are the same as importing any other kind of data, this article will focus specifically on the user destinations.

The user-scoped destinations include three categories:

  • Account - This category contains destinations for basic account information.
  • Access Permissions - This category contains destinations to add or remove realms, roles, and permissions.
  • Field - User-scoped custom fields appear as destinations under this category.
Matching Criteria

When importing user-scoped data, Slate attempts to prevent the creation of duplicate records by finding an existing, matching user account. As soon as a user account matches a mapped item, Slate considers the account to be found, and it will stop evaluating subsequent matching criteria. As such, the order is important to note below.

The items used to identify an existing user account in Slate appear below in the order they are evaluated:

  1. User GUID (Matching Only) - This is the 36-character unique identifier of the user account. Matching only means that this will not update the GUID; it is used only to find potential matches.
  2. User ID - This is the ID that the user will use to log in to Slate. If the account does not exist yet, or a match was made from previously evaluated matching criteria, and the user ID does not match, then the user ID will be updated.
  3. User-scoped unique custom fields - If the unique field value does not yet exist or does not match what was mapped in the source, the value will be updated.

If a matching user account does not exist, and record creation is not disabled for the source, then a new user will be created. The following items are required for user account creation: User ID, First Name, Last Name, and Email Address.

Access Permissions
Realms

A user can be associated with multiple realms. To add new realms to a user account, simply map the realm destination. 

One way to associate a user with more than one realm in the same import is to use a single, delimited list of realms within a single column mapped to this destination:

delimit.png

Alternatively, the Realm destination can be mapped for multiple source columns:

mceclip0__1_.png

Likewise, realms can be removed from the user account via the import. The Realm - Clear All destination will remove all realms from the user account that are not explicitly added via the import. 

The Realm - Remove destination allows a more targeted approach to removing realms from a record. Just like with the Realm destination, multiple realms can be mapped using either a single, delimited column or multiple columns. Each realm mapped under the Realm - Remove destination will be removed from the user account.

Roles and Permissions with Populations

Roles and permissions have the same destination options as described above for realms: add, remove and/or remove all. That being said, certain roles and permissions can be applied based on a particular population (e.g., a user can be granted the Application Lookup permission, but only for the Chemistry population).

Use the Population for Permission/Role destination in addition to the permission or role destinations in order to add or remove particular roles or permissions associated with a specific population. This destination, along with the Role, Role - Remove, Permission, and Permission - Remove destinations, can be configured with groups, which allows the role or permission to be applied or removed for the specific population mapped within the same group.

populatn_imp.png

A single population can be applied to any number of Role, Role - Remove, Permission, and Permission - Remove destinations by mapping each of them with the same group number as the corresponding Population for Permission/Role destination. 

In the Value Mappings section, you can then map unique Population Groups as needed to the desired Population(s), with the corresponding permissions/roles granted for just that Population.

pop_groups.png

Important!

The Role - Clear All and Permission - Clear All destinations are not groupable - they will remove all roles or all permissions for the user, regardless of the population with which they may be associated.

Was this article helpful?
5 out of 9 found this helpful