Active User Settings

Setting Description
User Type

Select the appropriate user type:

  • User - Individuals with institutional accounts who need access to Slate
  • User (External) - Individuals who do not have institutional accounts who need access to Slate
  • Service Account and Service Account (Remote) - Accounts that need access to Slate SFTP Servers only
User ID

The ID that will be used to access Slate. The User ID must match the single sign-on ID users regularly use at your institution if single sign-on is configured. User accounts in Slate must have unique user IDs regardless of active or inactive status.

Activation Password Password for first-time login of external users, which is changed upon initial login. (Only Required for External Users.)
Home Country Country from which the user will be accessing Slate most often.
Active Enables the user account for access. If a user no longer needs access to Slate, uncheck the Active setting. It is best practice to deactivate user accounts instead of deleting them to preserve audit logs.
Supervised

The Supervised setting is helpful for users who should only be able to access Slate from a computer in the office. Supervised login is a two-step process:

  1. A non-supervised user must click the "Supervised Login" link on the Slate homepage.
  2. The non-supervised user must copy the URL from the popup window to the clipboard. All browser windows must be closed, and then a new browser window may be opened. Paste the saved URL in the new browser window. Then the supervised user may use their credentials to log in to Slate.
MFA

Requires multi-factor authentication for logins from unrecognized devices. (When selected, a Mobile Phone or specific MFA Mobile is required.)

When selected, a second option allows a different phone number than the Mobile Phone entered above to be used for MFA.

MFA Mobile

Alternate Mobile Phone number to be used for MFA Authentication. (Displays when the second option above is selected.)

Expires After Enter a static date, after which the user account will be automatically deactivated.

 

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful