Permissions Updates: Deliver All, Deliver Send, Reader, Reader Classify

This afternoon, we will be publishing a permissions update. We will simultaneously be publishing an update which grants these updated permissions to users that already had the same effective permissions, so there will be no changes to effective permissions across any databases.

Deliver All (deliver_all):

The Deliver All permission previously only granted the ability to search for Deliver messages associated with other users, but the lack of this permission did not restrict users from editing Deliver mailings that were associated with a different user.  

We are publishing an update this afternoon that will prevent users with the Deliver permission who do not have the Deliver All permission from updating messages associated with other users.

Since this is a change from the current behavior, we will be granting the Deliver All permission to all users who currently only have the Deliver permission. The permission will be assigned using a new Role Group called Deliver Permission Migration so Security Administrators can just inactivate the Role Group if your institution does not wish to grant those users the Deliver All permission.

Deliver Send (deliver_send):

The Deliver Send permission is a new permission that grants the ability to Send or Stop Deliver mailings.  This new permission will allow Security Administrators to grant users access to Deliver without granting the ability to send the message.

There is a new setting for Deliver mailings called Ready for Review within the Send Mailing popup.  This allows any user with Deliver permissions to create a message and mark it as Ready for Review.  Any user is able to filter for this new status to find messages that are Ready for Review, but only users with the Deliver Send permission will be able to send the message.  

When a message is marked as Ready for Review, the Send button is disabled for everyone, including users with the Deliver Send permission. The Ready for Review checkbox needs to be unselected to re-enable the Send button for users with the Deliver Send permission. 

Setting the Ready for Review status (note the disabled Send Mailing button):

Filtering for messages with the Ready for Review status:

All active users with the Deliver permission will be granted the Deliver Send permission, which will result in no effective change to permissions that users already have.

Reader (reader)

Reader is a new permission that will grant users access to the Reader. Previously, any user with access to a query base with the Enable Reader setting configured as Yes had access to view the records that met the query criteria for that query base.  This new permission will allow Security Administrators to further restrict access to the Reader.  Users with the Reader permission will still need to have permissions to an Enable Reader query base, and users will still only be able to view records that meet the query criteria for that query base, including all custom user-specific permissions specified in the where clause.  

All active users will be granted the Reader permission, which will result in no effective change to permissions that users already have. If users with the Reader permission do not have access to an Enable Reader query base, then the user will still be unable to view any applications within the Reader.

Reader Classify (reader_classify)

Reader Classify is a new permission that will grant users access to Classify within the Reader. Previously, any user with access to an Enable Reader query base was able to use Classify for application records that the user had permission to view.  This new permission will allow your Security Administrators to limit access to Classify within the Reader.

All active users will be granted the Reader Classify permission, which will result in no effective change to permissions that users already have. 

Was this article helpful?
6 out of 11 found this helpful